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Permit Fees for Hazardous Materials Management

Sec. 22a-454-1. Hazardous materials management permit fees
(a) Method and timing of payment. An applicant or permittee shall submit all

fees required by this section by certified check or money order payable to the
Department of Environmental Protection. Any fee required by this section shall be
due upon the submission of the application or request to which it relates. Any
application or request shall not be deemed complete and will not be reviewed until
all fees required by this section have been paid in full.

(b) Application Fee. The fee for submitting an application or for revoking and
reissuing, or renewing a permit required by section 22a-454 of the Connecticut
General Statutes shall be as follows:

(1) For a transporter permit, five hundred dollars ($500.00) per year for each year
or portion thereof that the permit authorizes the transportation of hazardous waste;

(2) For a contractor’s permit, five hundred dollars ($500.00) per year for each
year or portion thereof that the permit authorizes a person to act as a contractor;

(3) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one
vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, fourteen thousand
dollars ($14,000) if the storage or transfer activity meets any of the following criteria:

(i) the waste has a signal rating of 3 or 4 under any of the listed categories (i.e.,
health hazard, flammability or reactivity) of the National Fire Protection Association
(NFPA) 704 Standard System for the Identification of the Fire Hazards of Materials;

(ii) 1,000 gallons, or an equivalent weight or volume, or more of hazardous waste
is stored at any one time;

(iii) there is a 2,000 gallons or more throughput of hazardous waste in any 24
hour period; or

(iv) more than three different types of hazardous waste will be stored.
(4) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one

vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, seven thousand
dollars ($7,000) if the storage or transfer does not meet any of the criteria specified
in subdivision (3) of this subsection and includes the transfer of hazardous waste
from the original container to another container; and

(5) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one
vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, two thousand,
five-hundred dollars ($2,500) if the storage or transfer does not meet any of the
criteria specified in subdivision (3) of this subsection and the hazardous waste
remains in its original container.

(c) Modification fee. The fee for applying for the following modifications to a
permit issued under section 22a-454 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be
as follows:

(1) For a change in the type of hazardous waste to be transported under a transporter
permit – one hundred dollars ($100.00);

(2) For modification to a permit, other than a transporter permit, of a type listed
as a class I permit modification that does not require the approval of the commissioner
– two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00); and

(3) For modification to a permit, other than a transporter permit, of a type listed
as a class I permit modification that requires the approval of the commissioner –
five hundred dollars ($500.00).

For purposes of this subsection, ‘‘Class I’’ shall mean permit modifications
designated as class I in Appendix I to 40 CFR 270.42.
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(d) Transfer Fee. The fee to transfer any permit issued pursuant to section 22a-
454 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be the fee prescribed by section 22a-
6o of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(e) Waiver. All fees required by this section may be waived for agencies, boards,
commissions, councils and departments of the state of Connecticut as provided in
section 22a-6f of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(f) Municipal permittee. All fees charged to a municipality pursuant to this
section shall be fifty percent of the fee charged to other applicants.

(g) Relationship to statutory fees. Other than the fees specified in this section,
nothing in this section shall affect the fees specified in the Connecticut General
Statutes.

(h) Multiple Fees. Any person required to pay more than one fee (i.e., for multiple
permits or multiple applications or requests requiring payment of a fee) shall pay
the fee calculated by adding each fee associated with each application request or
permit requiring payment of a fee. In calculating the total fee, each permit application
or request requiring payment of a fee shall be added separately, even if an applicant
or requester files one application seeking multiple permits or one request containing
multiple requests.

(Effective November 23, 1988; amended October 31, 2001)
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