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R-39 Rev. 03/2012  
(Title page)          

 
State of Connecticut 

  REGULATION 
of 
 

NAME OF AGENCY 

The Department of Consumer Protection 
Concerning 

SUBJECT MATTER OF REGULATION 

The Real Estate Property Condition Disclosure Form 
  

 
Section 1.  Section 20-327b-1 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies is hereby amended 
as follows: 
 
 

Residential Property Condition Disclosure Report 
 
Sec. 20-327b-1. Residential property condition disclosure report 
 
 The following form shall be used by sellers who are required by Section 20-327b of the 
Connecticut General Statutes to provide a written residential property condition disclosure report to 
prospective purchasers. 
 

 

 
 
 
 

IMPORTANT: Read instructions on 
back of last page (Certification Page) 
before completing this form.  Failure 
to comply with instructions may cause 
disapproval of proposed Regulations 
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(Statement of Purpose page) 

 
 
Statement of Purpose 
 
Pursuant to CGS Section 4-170(b)(3), “Each proposed regulation shall have a statement of its purpose 
following the final section of the regulation.” 
 

(A)  Purpose:  Connecticut General Statutes Section 20-327b requires the Commissioner of 
Consumer Protection to adopt regulations establishing the contents of the Real Estate Property 
Condition Disclosure Form.  The purpose of these proposed regulations is to add additional 
disclosures and make other changes to the existing Real Estate Property Condition Disclosure Form, 
as set forth in Public Act 2012-122. 

  
 (B)  Summary:  These regulations modify the Real Estate Property Condition Disclosure 

Form. 
     

 (C) Legal Effects:  Regulation Section 20-327b-1 contains the actual Real Estate Property 
Condition Disclosure Form, so this section must be formally amended each time a statutory, 
technical, aesthetic, or other change is made to this Form.  These proposed regulations modify the 
Form by adding the following disclosures and by making the following changes: 
 
1. Whether a property located in a common interest community is subject to any community or 
association dues or fees; 
 
2. That the prospective purchaser should consult with the building official in the municipality where 
the property is located to confirm that applicable building permits and certificates of occupancy have 
been issued for work on the property; 
  
3. That the prospective purchaser should have the property inspected by a licensed home inspector; 
  
4. Whether the seller is aware of any prior or pending litigation or government agency or 
administrative action, order, or lien on the premises related to the release of any hazardous substance; 
 
5. Whether there are smoke and carbon monoxide detectors located in a dwelling on the premises, (b) 
the number of detectors, and (c) if there have been any problems with the detectors, and explain the 
problem; and 
 
6. Whether during the seller's ownership, there is or was an underground storage tank on the property 
and if so, whether it was removed. If the tank was removed and within the seller's possession and 
control, he or she must provide any and all documentation of removal with information on when and 
who removed it. 
  
The proposed regulation also updates the credit, from $300.00 to $500.00, which the seller must give 
the purchaser at closing if he or she does not furnish the written Residential Property Condition 
Disclosure Report. 
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(Certification page—see Instructions on back) 

CERTIFICATION 
 

This certification statement must be completed in full, including items 3 and 4, if they are applicable. 
 

 
1) I hereby certify that the above (check one)    Regulations     Emergency Regulations   
 

2) are (check all that apply)     adopted    amended    repealed  by this agency pursuant to the 
following authority(ies): (complete all that apply) 

 
a. Connecticut General Statutes section(s) 4-168 and 20-327b.   

 
b. Public Act Number(s) 2012-122. 

 (Provide public act number(s) if the act has not yet been codified in the Connecticut General Statutes.) 
 

3) And I further certify that notice of intent to adopt, amend or repeal said regulations was published 
in the Connecticut Law Journal on      ;   
(Insert date of notice publication if publication was required by CGS Section 4-168.) 

 

4) And that a public hearing regarding the proposed regulations was held on       ;   
(Insert date(s) of public hearing(s) held pursuant to CGS Section 4-168(a)(7), if any, or pursuant to other applicable statute.) 

 

5) And that said regulations are EFFECTIVE (check one, and complete as applicable) 

    When filed with the Secretary of the State   

OR   on (insert date)           
 

DATE 
      

SIGNED (Head of Board, Agency or Commission) 

 
OFFICIAL TITLE, DULY AUTHORIZED 

Commissioner 
Department of Consumer Protection 

 
APPROVED by the Attorney General as to legal sufficiency in accordance with CGS Section 4-169, as amended 
DATE 
 

SIGNED (Attorney General or AG’s designated representative) OFFICIAL TITLE, DULY AUTHORIZED 

 

Proposed regulations are DEEMED APPROVED by the Attorney General in accordance with CGS Section 4-169, as amended, if the 
attorney General fails to give notice to the agency of any legal insufficiency within thirty (30) days of the receipt of the proposed regulation. 

(For Regulation Review Committee Use ONLY)  
 

 Approved     Rejected without prejudice   
 

 Approved with technical corrections  Disapproved in part, (Indicate Section Numbers disapproved only) 
 

 Deemed approved pursuant to CGS Section 4-170(c) 
 
By the Legislative Regulation Review 
Committee in accordance with CGS 
Section 4-170, as amended 

DATE SIGNED (Administrator, Legislative Regulation Review Committee)

Two certified copies received and filed and one such copy forwarded to the Commission on Official Legal Publications in 
accordance with CGS Section 4-172, as amended. 
DATE 
 

SIGNED (Secretary of the State) 

 
BY

(For Secretary of the State Use ONLY) 
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 
1. All regulations proposed for adoption, amendment or repeal, except emergency regulations, must be presented to the 

Attorney General for his/her determination of legal sufficiency.  (See CGS Section 4-169.) 
 
2. After approval by the Attorney General, the original and one electronic copy (in Word format) of all regulations 

proposed for adoption, amendment or repeal must be presented to the Legislative Regulation Review Committee for 
its action. (See CGS Sections 4-168 and 4-170 as amended by Public Act 11-150, Sections 18 and 19.) 

 
3. Each proposed regulation section must include the appropriate regulation section number and a section heading. (See 

CGS Section 4-172.) 
 
4. New language added to an existing regulation must be in underlining or CAPITAL LETTERS, as determined by the 

Regulation Review Committee.  (See CGS 4-170(b).) 
 
5. Existing language to be deleted must be enclosed in brackets [ ].   (See CGS 4-170(b).) 
 
6. A completely new regulation or a new section of an existing regulation must be preceded by the word "(NEW)" in 

capital letters. (See CGS Section 4-170(b).) 
 
7. The proposed regulation must have a statement of its purpose following the final section of the regulation.  (See CGS 

Section 4-170(b).) 
 

8. The Certification Statement portion of the form must be completed, including all applicable information regarding 
Connecticut Law Journal notice publication date(s) and public hearing(s).  (See more specific instructions below.) 

 
9. Additional information regarding rules and procedures of the Legislative Regulation Review Committee can be found 

on the Committee’s web site: http://www.cga.ct.gov/rr/ .   
 
10. A copy of the Legislative Commissioners’ Regulations Drafting Manual is located on the LCO website at 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/lco/pdfs/Regulations_Drafting_Manual.pdf. 
 
 
 
CERTIFICATION STATEMENT INSTRUCTIONS 
(Numbers below correspond to the numbered sections of the statement) 
 

1. Indicate whether the regulation is a regular or an emergency regulation adopted under the provisions of CGS 
Section 4-168(f). 

 
2. a)   Indicate whether the regulations contains newly adopted sections, amendments to existing sections,  

and/or repeals existing sections.  Check all cases that apply. 
 
b) Indicate the specific legal authority that authorizes or requires adoption, amendment or repeal of the 

regulation.  If the relevant public act has been codified in the most current biennial edition of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, indicate the relevant statute number(s) instead of the public act number.  If the public act 
has not yet been codified, indicate the relevant public act number. 

 
3. Except for emergency regulations adopted under CGS 4-168(f), and technical amendments to an existing 

regulation adopted under CGS 4-168(g), an agency must publish notice of its intent to adopt a regulation in the 
Connecticut Law Journal.  Enter the date of notice publication. 
 

4. CGS Section 4-168(a)(7) prescribes requirements for the holding of an agency public hearing regarding proposed 
regulations.  Enter the date(s) of the hearing(s) held under that section, if any; also enter the date(s) of any 
hearing(s) the agency was required to hold under the provisions of any other law. 
 

5. As applicable, enter the effective date of the regulation here, or indicate that it is effective upon filing with the 
Secretary of the State.  Please note the information below. 
 
Regulations are effective upon filing with the Secretary of the State or at a later specified date.  See CGS Section 
4-172(b) which provides that each regulation is effective upon filing, or, if a later date is required by statute or 
specified in the regulation, the later date is the effective date.  An effective date may not precede the effective 
date of the public act requiring or permitting the regulation.  Emergency regulations are effective immediately 
upon filing with the Secretary of the State, or at a stated date less than twenty days thereafter. 


