
 
 
 

State of Connecticut 
Department of Consumer Protection 

Instructions for Home Heating Fuel Dealers Registration 
 
 
In accordance with Public Act  01-46, as amended by Public Act 06-65, on or after October 1, 
2001, no person, firm, or corporation shall engage in the retail sale of home heating oil or liquid 
propane without a certificate of registration as a home heating fuel dealer.   Each person, firm, or 
corporation seeking a home heating fuel dealer registration must submit a registration application 
provided by the Department of Consumer Protection, and a check or money order in the amount 
of $200.00,* payable to the "Treasurer, State of Connecticut." 
 
All applicants must also provide evidence of general liability insurance coverage and insurance to 
cover any potential environmental damage due to fuel oil spills.  Coverage shall not be less than 
one million dollars.  All applicants that offer plumbing or heating service work must attach a list 
of names and license numbers of all licensed employees or subcontractors performing this work. 
Additionally, no home heating fuel dealer shall enter into a prepaid home heating fuel contract 
unless such dealer has either:(1) Obtained and maintained heating fuel futures contracts or other 
similar commitments that allow such dealer to purchase, at a fixed price, heating fuel in an 
amount not less than eighty per cent of the maximum number of gallons that such dealer is 
committed to deliver or,(2) Obtained and maintained a surety bond in an amount not less than 
fifty percent of the total amount of funds paid to the dealer by consumers with prepaid home 
heating fuel contracts. Such dealer shall maintain the amount of futures contracts or the amount of 
the surety bond required by this subsection for the period of time for which such prepaid home 
heating fuel contracts are effective, except that the amount of such futures contracts or surety 
bond may be reduced during such period of time to reflect any amount of home heating fuel 
already delivered to and paid for by the consumer. No prepaid home heating fuel contract shall 
require any consumer commitment to purchase home heating fuel pursuant to the terms of such 
contract for a period of more than eighteen months. 
 
Questions may be directed to the Consumer Protection Food and Standards Division at(860) 713-
6160. 
 
*  On August 31, 2009, the State Legislature passed HB-6802, “AN ACT CONCERNING 
EXPENDITURES AND REVENUE FOR THE BIENNIUM ENDING JUNE 30, 2011.” The bill became 
law on September 8, 2009 without the Governor’s signature of approval. With that, the State of Connecticut 
has a new 2-year budget in place.  
  
Contained in this budget are mandatory increases in the fees many individuals and businesses customarily 
pay to obtain and renew licenses with state agencies such as the Department of Consumer Protection. The 
effective date for all these fee increases as determined by the State Legislature is October 1, 2009. 
  
The actual amount of fee increase is determined by a formula contained in the bill.  Specifically, “fees that 
are currently  (a) $1,000.00 or more shall be increased by $250.00, (b) $150 or more but less than $1000.00 
shall be increased by 25% and rounded up to the next whole five dollar increment, and (c) less than 
$150.00 shall be doubled.  Also no fee shall be less than $15.00” 


