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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION 
T R A D E  P R A C T I C E S  D I V I S I O N  
Telephone: (860) 713-6100 
Email: trade.practices@ct.gov 
Web Site: www.ct.gov/dcp 
 

APPLICATION FOR ITINERANT VENDOR  
OR MANAGING ITINERANT VENDOR LICENSE 
 

This application must be accompanied by a check or money order in the amount of $400.00.
 $200.00 licence fee, $200.00 Guaranty Fund fee. payable to the “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” 
 

�  Department of Consumer Protection, License Services Division, 165 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06106 
 

Please check (ü) the type of license you are applying for:   
 

           Itinerant Vendor        Managing Itinerant Vendor      
 

  Applicant’s Name (First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name) 
  
 
Business Name 
 

Business Street Address City or Town State Zip Code 

Telephone Number (with area code) 
 

Social Security or FEIN Number  CT Sales Tax Registration Number 

Has the applicant ever been convicted of a felony crime?      Yes      No 
If YES, please attach a statement providing the date(s) and conviction(s), the court(s) where the cases 
were decided and a description of the circumstances relating to each conviction(s). 

 

Have you applied for a municipal license? 
                Yes      No 

Location at which sales are conducted 
 
 

Organizational Structure:      Sole Proprietor      Corporation      Partnership      Limited Partnership      Limited Liability Company 
 List the names, home addresses and titles of all persons associated in the ownership of the business: 
Name 
 

Address 
 

Title 

Name Address Title 

Name  Address Title 

Is the applicant the owner of the merchandise? 
 Yes      No  If no, please attach a written explanation 

Did you purchase the merchandise or the business specifically for this sale? 
 Yes      No  If  yes, please attach complete details pertaining to acquisition 

 
Purchased when? From whom? Licenses are issued for a period of one year; indicate the date 

you wish your license to begin:   

Total cost value of merchandise in the attached inventory for 
specific sales as designated under Section 21-33 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes:  $ 

Indicate the advertised format to be employed (i.e., newspaper, radio, etc.) 

Description of merchandise to be sold: 

 
 
 

I swear that the answers and statements in the foregoing application are true to the best of my knowledge.  Further, I understand the 
conditions under which this license is issued, and that “special sales” as defined under Section 21-33 will offer no goods, wares, or 
merchandise other than those actually on hand in the place whereat such sale is to be conducted at the opening thereof. 
 
_______________________________________________________________                  _____________________ 
Signature of Applicant                                          Date 
  

                  Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of ______________________ 20_______ 
 
________________________________________________________________                _____________________ 
Notary Public                     My Commission Expires 

 

For Official Use Only 



  

Instructions and Information 
Itinerant Vendor & Managing Itinerant Vendor License Application 

 
Chapter 407 of the Connecticut General Statutes  

 

 “Itinerant Vendor” means any person, whether principal or agent, who engages in a temporary or transient 
business in this state, either in one locality or in traveling from place to place, selling goods, wares and 
merchandise and who, for the purpose of carrying on such business, hires, leases, or occupies any building or 
structure for the exhibition and sale of such goods, wares, and merchandise; “Managing Itinerant Vendor” 
means any person who conducts, manages, or organizes a show of itinerant vendors for purposes of exhibition 
and sale at any location which is open to the general public at which goods, wares, or merchandise are on 
display and offered for sale by any vendors;  “Temporary or Transient Business” means and includes any 
exhibition and sale of goods, wares, or merchandise which is carried on in any tent, booth, building, or other 
structure, unless such place is open for business during usual business hours for a period of at least nine 
months in each year. 
 
 

Please be aware of the following provisions of the law: 
 

1. Each itinerant vendor or managing itinerant vendor shall display in a conspicuous manner in all printed 
advertisements, the license number and the name under which the license is issued. 

 

2. At least ten (10) days prior to the commencement of any organized show of itinerant vendors, each  
Managing Itinerant Vendor must submit a list of participating vendors to the Department of Consumer 
Protection.  The list of participating itinerant vendors in each show must be maintained by the managing 
itinerant vendor for a period of one year and shall be made available to this Department within ten days of 
written notice. 

 

3. Any itinerant vendor who participates in any show under the direction and control of a managing itinerant 
vendor shall be deemed to be an agent of the managing itinerant vendor and shall not be required to obtain 
an individual itinerant vendor license. 

 

4. The Commissioner may revoke, suspend, or refuse to issue an itinerant vendor license or a managing 
itinerant vendor license to any person who (a) engages in conduct of a character likely to mislead, deceive, 
or defraud the public or the Commissioner; (b) engages in any untruthful or misleading advertising; or (c) 
violates any provision of the General Statutes relating to the Itinerant Vendor’s Act or any regulation 
adopted pursuant to Section 21-33 or 42-110b of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

 

5. Before selling under the state license in any town, city or borough, each itinerant vendor or managing 
itinerant vendor shall make an application for a municipal license to the selectmen or other authority of 
such town, city or borough. 

 

6. According to Connecticut General Statutes Section 21-33, if you advertise, represent, or hold forth a sale 
as designated in Section 21-33, including those represented as an Insurance, Bankrupt, Insolvent, 
Assignee’s, Trustee’s, Executor’s, Administrator’s, Receiver’s, Wholesale or Manufacturer’s sale or as a 
sale of any goods damaged by smoke, fire, water or otherwise or in any similar form, you must compile 
an inventory of goods, wares, or merchandise on hand at the place where the sale is to be 
conducted and have sworn to it. 

 
7. Worker’s Compensation Insurance is required by Section 31-286a of the Connecticut General Statutes if 

any license applicant has employees in the State of Connecticut. 
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